Here I was born … and there I died

Amy Cutler (Ph.D. candidate) discusses the theme of forests and dendrochronology in four film scenes, and also announces some upcoming cinema events run by Landscape Surgery’s Passengerfilms.

Write off the map

Apropos of the Screening Nature Network’s forthcoming weekend symposium and screenings at Whitechapel Gallery (eleven hours of natural history experimental cinema!), I thought I would put up some film related images which I’ve been coming across in my research.

4

3

2

FILM CLIP: “Here I was born … and there I died”, in Hitchcock’s Vertigo

FILM CLIP: Sequoia tree trunk scene in Chris Marker’s La Jetée

FILM CLIP: Vertigo cinema scene in Terry Gilliam’s Twelve Monkeys

I’ve previously mentioned the redwood/ sequoia tree-ring reading scenes in Vertigo (1958) and in Chris Marker’s La Jetée (1962), used again as a datum point in Sans Soleil (1983), Twelve Monkeys (1995), and even (at a stretch) in the recurring tree-stump scene in recent time-travel Looper (2012). The “Here I was born … and there I died” gesture – Madeleine (aka Judy) pointing at the concentric rings on the trunk, and pinpointing her birth and death – is…

View original post 742 more words

Leave a Reply

